School Choice Information


The seven public schools in Garland County are proud to participate in the Arkansas School Choice Transfer Program for the 2017 - 2018 School Year. However, the School Choice Program in Garland County is quite different than the majority of the rest of Arkansas. While most of the state is operating under the Arkansas School Choice Law of 2015, in Garland County, our schools are legally required to operate under the old law. While the Arkansas School Choice Law of 1989 has been declared unconstitutional, we are required by the federal court to still operate under that law due to a Federal Desegregation Agreement. Therefore, the following information is relevant only to the schools in Garland County.

School Choice in Garland County is still impacted by the race of the student enrollment in both the home school district and the non-resident school district. The Arkansas Department of Education provides district racial data and a very complicated formula that we are required to follow in both acceptance and rejecting School Choice Transfers. The schools in Garland County began accepting School Choice Applications on April 1, 2017. FOR GARLAND COUNTY ONLY, THE SCHOOL CHOICE DEADLINE IS JULY 1, 2018. NO APPLICATIONS CAN BE ACCEPTED AFTER THAT DATE!


School Choice Application for 2018-2019

 Purchase Order-Radio Spot 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.